Facebook is a creature and front Operation of the CIA. That was verified and established a long time ago, so ignore the propaganda and BS documentaries about a couple of Jewish kids starting it up. They are simply fronts for the data collection machine that Facebook is worldwide.
Also this, Facebook is quickly replacing LIFE EXPERIENCES for people, especially the younger crowd. The digital is NOT LIFE. It's is simply the mirror of life and only represents life of the mind, not of reality. There is a difference. Life is OUT THERE IN THE WORLD.
Deactivation vs. Deletion of a Facebook Account
Facebook makes it incredibly difficult for you to really permanently delete your account. Deactivation and Deletion are two different things. Deactivating a Facebook account matches temporarily hiding your information on Facebook. To permanently remove your all your information you have to permanently delete it. This option is much harder to find, you can find the link below.
Step by Step Tutorial - How to Delete Your Facebook Profile
To permanently delete your account, follow the steps below:
1. Get rid of all your personal information on Facebook. Delete your friend list, pictures, videos, status updates, pages, ...simply everything. That makes it easier to stop smoking the Facebook joint and not come back.
2. Visit this link: Delete My Account. "If you do not think you will use Facebook again and would like your account deleted, we can take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added. If you would like your account deleted, then click Submit.".
3. "Permanently Delete My Account" - This is where Facebook asks you to solve a challenge-response test (CAPTCHA) to verify your wish for permanently deleting your account. To get to the next step and confirm, click "Okay".
4. At this point Facebook let's you know that you will now have to sit tight for as long as 14 days. During that period of time, your account will only be "deactivated". After 14 days of hearing NOTHING from you, your account will be permanently deleted.
5. You will then receive a confirmation email with the subject "Account Scheduled for Deletion".
6. Make sure Facebook really hears not from you during those 14 days, you should: Permanently stop all communications with Facebook (Apps, Facebook Connect Logins, Instant Messengers, Remove all Linked Accounts (like Twitter, Identi.ca, etc.), ...
7. Clear your Browser cache to make sure you do not automatically login to Facebook by accident.
Aggregation and Backups
The process of deletion will - hopefully - delete all your personal information from Facebook. This is, given that none of your friends has copied or spread any of your personal data. Imagine a friend of yours re-posted one of your status updates. This re-post will not be deleted. Depending on how often things like this happened while you were on Facebook, the deeper your everlasting footprint on Facebook will be.
Your information and personal data will also be kept in system backups. For an out-sider there is no way of knowing that all information will really be earased in a way normal people understand a "delete" process.